Good is a making your dream home a realty

Adam Schiff subpoenas acting spy chief to hand over ‘urgent’ whistleblower complaint

Written by on September 14, 2019

House Intelligence Committee Chairman Adam Schiff accused the acting director of national intelligence of illegally withholding a whistleblower’s complaint deemed to be of “urgent concern.”

In an announcement late Friday, Schiff said he issued a subpoena to compel acting Director of National Intelligence Joseph Maguire to produce the complaint and suggested the holdup may be an effort to protect President Trump.

If Maguire refuses to comply by Tuesday, Schiff wrote in an accompanying letter to Maguire that his panel will require him to testify in an open hearing on Thursday.

Schiff, a Democrat from California, said, “A month ago, a whistleblower within the intelligence community lawfully filed a complaint regarding a serious or flagrant problem, abuse, violation of law, or deficiency within the responsibility or authority of the Director of National Intelligence.” Citing an “unambiguous” statute, Schiff said the Office of the Director of National Intelligence was required to submit the complaint to the congressional intelligence committees more than 10 days ago.

Schiff said the Intelligence Community inspector general sent a letter to the Intelligence Committee on Monday to notify them of the complaint that it determined to be credible and of “urgent concern.”

The next day, Schiff said he requested the full and unredacted whistleblower complaint, the IC inspector general’s determination related to the complaint, and all records pertaining to the ODNI’s involvement in this matter, “including any and all correspondence with other Executive Branch actors including the White House.”

“We do not know whether this decision to withhold the disclosure was made only by you, or whether it involved interference by other parties, including the White House,” Schiff said in a letter to Maguire on Sept. 10. “The Committee’s recent experience has heightened concern of improper White House efforts to influence your office and the Intelligence Community. The failure to transmit to the Committee an urgent and credible whistleblower complaint, as required by law, raises the prospect that an urgent matter of a serious nature is being purposefully concealed by the Committee.”

The committee got a response on Friday in which the ODNI declined the chairman’s request. According to Schiff, who did not share the letter, the ODNI said it was withholding the complaint, in part, because “it involves confidentially and potentially privileged communications by persons outside the Intelligence Community.”

“A Director of National Intelligence has never prevented a properly submitted whistleblower complaint that the IC IG determined to be credible and urgent from being provided to the congressional intelligence committees,” Schiff said in a statement. “Never. This raises serious concerns about whether White House, Department of Justice or other executive branch officials are trying to prevent a legitimate whistleblower complaint from reaching its intended recipient, the Congress, in order to cover up serious misconduct.”

A spokesperson for the ODNI did not immediately return a call seeking comment.

Trump picked Maguire to be acting director of national intelligence a little more than a month ago. The announcement came shortly after Trump revealed Sue Gordon, the No. 2 spy chief, would be resigning alongside Director of National Intelligence Dan Coats and announced Rep. John Ratcliffe, his pick to replace Coats, was out of the running amid scrutiny over the Texas Republican’s credentials.

Maguire, a retired Navy vice admiral, was confirmed by the Senate in December 2018 as the director of the National Counterterrorism Center, which is part of the Office of the Director of National Intelligence. At the time, Coats praised Maguire as being “exactly what our country needs at the helm of NCTC,” and said, “[h]is vast experience in the national security arena will benefit the counterterrorism community as our nation faces increasingly complex threats from around the globe.”


Reader's opinions
  1. 0mniartist   On   April 11, 2021 at 5:56 pm

    After looking at a number of the articles on your web page,
    I really appreciate your technique of blogging.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back
    soon. Take a look at my web site too and tell me your opinion. 0mniartist asmr

  2. j.mp   On   April 14, 2021 at 4:18 pm

    certainly like your web-site however you have to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and
    I in finding it very troublesome to tell the reality however I will surely come back again.
    asmr 0mniartist

  3. gamefly that   On   April 27, 2021 at 5:31 pm

    Excellent blog here! Also your site loads up very fast!
    What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your host?
    I wish my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  4. asmr of   On   April 29, 2021 at 1:37 am

    I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth
    enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a
    lot more useful than ever before.

  5. for gamefly   On   May 3, 2021 at 3:12 pm

    I’ll immediately snatch your rss feed as I can not to find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.

    Do you have any? Kindly allow me recognise in order that
    I could subscribe. Thanks.

  6. asmr where   On   May 4, 2021 at 1:39 am

    Good way of describing, and good paragraph to take
    information concerning my presentation subject matter, which i am going to deliver in academy.

  7. tinyurl.com   On   May 15, 2021 at 5:10 am

    scoliosis
    Hey there, You have done a fantastic job.
    I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my
    friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this
    site. scoliosis

  8. dating sites but   On   May 26, 2021 at 3:55 am

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that
    I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  9. dating sites is   On   June 1, 2021 at 1:19 am

    Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely useful information specifically the closing phase :
    ) I take care of such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

  10. http://tinyurl.com/y3aknctr   On   June 1, 2021 at 6:07 am

    Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had
    to ask!

  11. tinyurl.com   On   June 1, 2021 at 4:24 pm

    Simply desire to say your article is as surprising.

    The clearness on your publish is simply cool and i can assume you’re
    knowledgeable on this subject. Well together
    with your permission let me to take hold of your feed to
    keep up to date with approaching post. Thanks 1,
    000,000 and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  12. 우리카지노   On   July 10, 2021 at 8:01 am

    I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s
    both equally educative and entertaining, and without a doubt,
    you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something which too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this in my hunt
    for something relating to this.

  13. Merry   On   July 12, 2021 at 6:23 am

    Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend
    your website, how could i subscribe for a blog site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your
    broadcast offered bright clear idea

  14. internet   On   July 16, 2021 at 2:45 pm

    Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  15. look at here   On   July 17, 2021 at 6:02 am

    Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your site is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched all over the place and just couldn’t come across. What a perfect web site.

  16. click this over here now   On   July 18, 2021 at 8:02 pm

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  17. this hyperlink   On   July 19, 2021 at 12:55 pm

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  18. site here   On   July 22, 2021 at 12:16 pm

    Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  19. look at this web-site   On   July 22, 2021 at 5:13 pm

    Wonderful blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused ..

  20. read   On   July 23, 2021 at 7:49 am

    My family all the time say that I am killing my time here at net, except I know I am getting familiarity all the time by reading such fastidious articles.

  21. check it out   On   July 23, 2021 at 3:28 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It truly helpful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to provide something back and help others like you aided me.

  22. click this link here now   On   July 27, 2021 at 2:34 pm

    Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information specially the remaining part 🙂 I maintain such information a lot. I used to be looking for this particular info for a very lengthy time. Thank you and good luck.

  23. other   On   August 3, 2021 at 7:55 pm

    Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent, let alone the content!

  24. http://tinyurl.com/   On   August 9, 2021 at 1:22 pm

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness on your post is just nice and that i can suppose you’re a professional on this subject.

    Well along with your permission allow me to seize your RSS feed to keep up to date with coming
    near near post. Thanks one million and please continue the rewarding work.

  25. http://tinyurl.com   On   August 9, 2021 at 9:47 pm

    We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most
    of the subjects you write in relation to here.
    Again, awesome website!

  26. http://t.co   On   August 31, 2021 at 12:17 pm

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a
    lot approximately this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something.
    I feel that you could do with some % to pressure the
    message house a little bit, however other than that, that is fantastic
    blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  27. the asmr   On   September 3, 2021 at 4:57 am

    Right here is the right webpage for anyone who would like to find out about this topic.
    You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject which has been written about for ages.
    Great stuff, just excellent!

  28. asmr my   On   September 5, 2021 at 7:49 am

    I’m more than happy to find this web site. I wanted to thank
    you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!!
    I definitely savored every bit of it and I have you saved to fav to
    see new things in your web site.

  29. Greg Miskinis   On   September 12, 2021 at 3:21 pm

    Great V I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related info ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Excellent task..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Current track
TITLE
ARTIST