Good is a making your dream home a realty

Race for SA Mayor Set for Runoff, Districts 2, 4 & 6 Undecided

Written by on May 7, 2019

The race for San Antonio Mayor ended undecided on Election Day Saturday, May 4th with a 3,151 voter spread between incumbent Mayor Ron Nirenberg and his prime challenger Councilman Greg Brockhouse, the two, in addition to the top candidates in District 2, 4 and 6, are headed to a June 8th Runoff Election.

Issues in the Municipal Election have included gentrification, affordable housing, property taxes, utility rates, crime, infrastructure/streets and sidewalks and transparency at City Hall. The Runoff Candidates in the City Council races include former Councilman Keith Toney and Jada Andrews-Sullivan for District 2, Adriana Rocha Garcia and Johnny Arredondo for District 4, and Melissa Cabello Havrda and Andy Greene for District 6.

The total voter turnout in this past election was 11.46%, or 110,293 out of 962,462 registered voters in Bexar County. Citizens are able to register and vote in the June 8th Runoff Election even if they did not participate in the May 4th Election. The deadline for new voter registration is Thursday, May 9th and the deadline to request mail ballots is May 28th. Early voting for the Runoff Election is set for Tuesday, May 28th through Tuesday, June 4th.

Currently, a Runoff Debate has not yet been announced, stay tuned for Election updates and coverage. For assistance with Voter Registration, voting or if you are interested in becoming a grassroots volunteer with the Neighborhoods First Alliance Voter Action Team, call 210-226-9041.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track